Belmont Stakes

The Belmont Stakes is the third jewel of racing’s Triple Crown, contested on the first Saturday of June at Belmont Park, which is located in Elmont, New York.

The race is the oldest of the Triple Crown races, first run in 1867. It predates the Preakness Stakes (first run in 1873) by six years and the Kentucky Derby (first run in 1875) by eight.

Only three stakes races in North America have a longer history, the Phoenix Stakes at Keeneland, which was first run in 1831, the Queen’s Plate in Canada, first run in 1860, and the Travers Stakes in New York, which was first contested in 1864.

We have also seen three of the five biggest upsets in the history of the race in just the last 15 years including Sarava, who now holds the all-time record payoff of $142.50 in 2002. War Emblem was the favorite that year, but faded to finish eighth, ending his Triple Crown bid.

Only three fillies have won the Belmont, Rags to Riches the most recent when she beat the boys in 2007. Previous fillies to win the race are Tanya in 1905 and Ruthless in 1867.

Belmont Stakes Winners 2000-2012 with $2 payoffs:

2012: Union Rags $7.50
2011: Ruler On Ice $51.50
2010: Drosselmeyer $28.00
2009: Summer Bird $25.80
2008: Da’ Tara $79.00
2007: Rags to Riches $10.60
2006: Jazil $14.40
2005: Afleet Alex $4.30
2004: Birdstone $74.00
2003: Empire Maker $6.00
2002: Sarava $142.50
2001: Point Given $4.70
2000: Commendable $39.60