Breeders Cup Betting

The Breeders’ Cup is racing’s championship two-day event that decides most of the year-end honors and is one of the best betting opportunities for horseplayers all year.

The Breeders’ Cup was first held in 1984 at Hollywood Park where it was a one-day event with seven championship races. The event was expanded to a two-day event in 2007, and has included as many as 15 races. The races attract the best horses from throughout the world with over $25 million in purses up for grabs.

About $150 million will be wagered over the two days, and with large competitive fields just about every race produces outstanding payoffs in every wagering pool.

The Classic usually produces the top candidate for Horse of the Year honors. Zenyatta is the lone female to win the Classic, beating the boys in 2009. She won the Ladies’ Classic in 2008. She just missed winning the Classic a second time, running second to Blame in 2010.

Goldikova is the lone runner to win a Breeders’ Cup race three times. She won the Mile in 2008, 2009, and 2010. She returned in 2011 for an unprecedented fourth victory in the race but finished third behind Court Vision and Turralure.

Julie Krone became the first female jockey to win a Breeders' Cup race when she rode Halfbridled to victory in the 2003 Breeders' Cup Juvenile Fillies at Santa Anita.