Kentucky Derby

Held at Churchill Downs on the first Saturday of May each year, the Kentucky Derby is regarded as the two most exciting minutes in sports. And for good reason. A big field of the most talented three-year-olds head to the gate under the historic twin spires, all attempting to get 1 ¼ miles for the first time in their career.

The Kentucky Derby was first contested in 1875 when Aristides won the inaugural running, with an estimated 10,000 fans in attendance. The three-year-old chestnut colt was owned by H.P. McGrath, and trained by Ansel Williamson and ridden by Oliver Lewis.

The biggest longshot to ever win the race was Donrail in 1913, the colt returning $194.00. Over the past 15 years we have seen several of the biggest upsets in the long history of the race.

Giacomo won the 2005 running and returned his backers $102.60. Four years later Mine That Bird lit up the toteboard again, paying $103.20. I’ll Have Another pulled off the upset in 2012, paying $32.60 and topping a $2.00 exacta with the betting favorite Bodemeister that paid $306.60.

Kentucky Derby Winners 2000-2012 with $2 payoffs:

2012: I’ll Have Another $32.60
2011: Animal Kingdom $43.80
2010: Super Saver $18.00
2009: Mine That Bird $103.20
2008: Big Brown $6.80
2007: Street Sense $11.80
2006: Barbaro $14.20
2005: Giacomo $102.60
2004: Smarty Jones $10.20
2003: Funny Cide $27.60
2002: War Emblem $43.00
2001: Monarchos $23.00
2000: Fusaichi Pegasus $6.60